RSS Feed

Blogging

YL Teacher and Blogging virgin (Well, I was until I hit the ‘publish now’ button)

Everyone has a blog these days, especially if you’re a ‘serious’ teacher. Right?
It’s the beginning of the new school year here in Europe, so here we go. Pens, check. coursebooks, check. Twitter account, check. Bucketload of technology and dogme and whatever else the latest and greatest teaching tool is, check. Blog, check. Wait, what?
I’ve read a few and they’re very impressive. Some are about dogme. Others are about dogme. Some more are about dogme, and the rest are mostly about the latest and greatest technological advances in the teaching world complete with videos and what-have-you and other exciting gadgets I don’t know the name of. Don’t get me wrong, many of these blogs are great. I’ve really enjoyed reading most of them and have learnt a lot. Some bloggers are the first with all the news, some have fantastic ideas and some are such good writers you wonder what an earth they are doing teaching English. I really take my hat off to these bloggers. They are the bomb. But what about those retro teachers like me who are still playing past simple battleships on a bit of scrap paper and not ebeam spacemonkeys? Are we in danger? Will we be left behind? Do we need to blog, tweet, ‘Elluminate’ our lives in order to prove our worth?
Maybe, maybe not, but I don’t want to get left behind. I’d just rather walk at my own pace. So in the spirit of taking that first step, I recently gave in and decided to have the seasons must have accessory. A blog. And yes, yet another TEFL blog.
Unlike other bloggers out there, I’m not a writer, I’m not up with the latest and greatest and I don’t have any groundbreaking ideas. What o what to blog about? And while I’m at it, actually, I don’t even know how to blog or where to start! I was about ready to ditch my blog dream until last just week during induction, when I had an epiphany of sorts. I was eliciting from the new teachers that their greatest resource was each other. Each other! That was it!
Have you ever sat on a park bench watching people walk by and wondered who they were and where they were going? Or maybe you’ve heard the kids in the class next to yours perfectly quiet or very noisy and wondered what is going on? Well….here is my blog idea. I want to interview other YL teachers out there in the TEFL world and find out who they are and what they are doing. I want to ‘walk’ through the TEFL world and grab some bits and pieces of info at a leisurely pace. I want to ask ‘real’ teachers what they are ‘really’ doing in their classrooms. What goes well, what flops? What are their favourite resources, games, websites, blogs, and even technological gadgets!! Anything really. So here I go. I’m doing it. I’m blogging baby! I hope you will join me on my walk 🙂

Oh, and stay tuned for my first interview with uber experienced BE teacher, published author and YL newbie Anne Petzer.

Until next time…

About klokanomil

YL Advisor & IH CYLT Coordinator for IHWO. Teacher, teacher trainer, training mentor, writer, presenter, student, mum of crazy twin toddlers (affectionately known as 'the sausages') and coffee addict.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Kylie,
    I can’t believe I’ve only just discovered your blog! It’s great, and I’ve already bookmarked four of the posts for future reference. I love your introduction to the whole thing, and would very much like to learn to play ebeam spacemonkeys – sounds interesting 😉
    If you ever fancy a guest post over at my blog, let me know!
    Sandy

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Sandy,

      You know what I’d really love? Is for you to do a guest spot on here 🙂 So why don;t we arrange some sort of exchange 🙂 I originally wanted this blog to be me interviewing other teachers because I really didn’t think I’d ever have anything interesting to say. Now it’s just that I never get around to writing 😦

      Question….I saw recently something about you having 3 blogs?? Is this true? The one I;ve read is super! Can you send me links to the other 2?? 🙂

      Kylie

      p.s. I’ve worked out I’ll be giving birth at around the same time you are working at the Olympics 🙂 We are both set for an exicitng summer 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

